The St. Francis Holy Fool Prayer Book by Jon M. Sweeney


Be the first to review this product
$16.99


   
In the tradition of The St. Francis Prayer Book, Jon Sweeney offers an ancient-medieval way of understanding and experiencing the Gospel: the Holy Fool.

 
In the tradition of The St. Francis Prayer Book, Jon Sweeney offers an ancient-medieval way of understanding and experiencing the Gospel: the Holy Fool. This countercultural approach is exemplified in the life and teachings of Francis of Assisi, the most popular Saint in history, and his good friend, Brother Juniper.

 

Biographical Note:
Jon M. Sweeney is an independent scholar and one of religion's most respected writers. He is the bestselling author of The Pope Who Quit. Sweeney's other works include When Saint Francis Saved the Church, Inventing Hell, The Complete Francis of Assisi, and The St. Francis Prayer Book. He writes regularly for America and The Tablet.


Commendation Quotes:
"Readers are invited into the foolish world of prayer in order to become more grounded in, open to, and inspired by the Christian tradition modeled by St. Francis of Assisi. Consider taking a retreat from the absurdity of our busy world to enter more deeply into the foolish peace of God." --Daniel P. Horan, OFM, author, God is Not Fair and other Reasons for Gratitude (2016)

Review Quotes:
"This is a unique book of prayer for Franciscans and want-to-be Franciscans or anyone as we prepare for the Feast of St. Francis of Assisi." --The Church of St. Francis of Assisi, NYC, newsletter

 

"What a treasure for anyone with a Franciscan heart! Jon Sweeney has gathered the folklore and the facts about Francis's unique gift to the world and to the Church and offers them to the reader. We learn that it is a holy 'thing' to be 'foolish.' In our world today which touts accomplishment in all its forms as the ultimate success, Sweeney reminds us of what truly makes a person successful in each one's limited span of years." -- Sr. Mary Petrosky, FMM, Spiritual Director

 

"Take a retreat from the absurdity of our busy world to enter more deeply in the foolish peace of God." -- Fr. Daniel P. Horan, author of God Is Not Fair and Other Reasons for Gratitude

 

"This gem of a book reminds us to delight in being called a 'fool, ' for then Fun, Optimism, Openness, and Laughter have blended together in life's treasure chest of 'pure joy.'" -- Sr. Bridget Haase, OSU, wisdomwonder.com


Publisher Marketing:
In the tradition of The St. Francis Prayer Book, Jon Sweeney offers an ancient-medieval way of understanding and experiencing the Gospel: the Holy Fool. This countercultural approach is exemplified in the life and teachings of Francis of Assisi, the most popular Saint in history, and his good friend, Brother Juniper.

 

What does it mean to be a fool for Christ? It meant to St. Francis: being small not strong, valuing joy over pleasure, avoiding positions of power, and enjoying rather than avoiding moments of insecurity, fear, and awkwardness. These practices revealed to the first Franciscans how being foolish in the eyes of the world is a sure way to discover a renewed sense of the presence of God.

 

Includes a week of daily offices focused on the concept of the Holy Fool and spiritual practices for countercultural living.

Contributor Bio:  Sweeney, Jon M
Jon M. Sweeney is an author, husband, and father of four. He has been interviewed on many television programs including CBS Saturday Morning, Fox News, and PBS's Religion and Ethics Newsweekly. His popular history The Pope Who Quit: A True Medieval Tale of Mystery, Death, and Salvation was optioned by HBO. He's the author of thirty-five other books, including The Complete Francis of AssisiWhen Saint Francis Saved the Church, the winner of an award in history from the Catholic Press Association, and The Enthusiast: How the Best Friend of Francis of Assisi Almost Destroyed What He Started. Sweeney is also the author of The Pope's Cat series for children. He presents often at literary and religious conferences, and churches, writes regularly for America in the US and The Tablet in the UK, and is active on social media (Twitter @jonmsweeney; Facebook jonmsweeney).


Join Our Email List

Receive updates on newly added items, events and seasonal products.